About Gary


Gary Higgins was elected to the Northern Territory Parliament in 2012 as the Member for Daly – a rural electorate which covers more than 81,000 square kilometres bounded by Kakadu National Park in the east, the Fitzmaurice River in the south and Darwin Harbour in the north. It includes the towns of Adelaide River, Batchelor, Berry Springs and Dundee Beach and communities of Douglas-Daly, Kybrook Farm, Nauiyu Nambiyu, Nganmarriyanga, Peppimenarti, Pine Creek and Wadeye.

Gary was an experienced and senior Northern Territory public servant in positions such as Corporate Services Director (Attorney-General’s Department) as well as Chairman of the Private Security Licensing Authority, Controller of Prices and Acting Commissioner for Consumer Affairs.

Gary owned and developed the Daly River Mango Farm for 14 years prior to being elected to Parliament. During his time as a primary producer and tourism operator he became involved in various community organisations and activities such as Unit Officer of Northern Territory Emergency Services, Chairman of Wangamatty Land Care and a member of the Daly River Management Advisory Committee. 

He has sat on various steering committees for the CSIRO, Charles Darwin University, and the NT Horticultural Association and was Chair of the Katherine Regional Tourism Association.

Gary and his wife Rhonda have raised their family of four sons in the Northern Territory.

Between February 2015 and August 2016 Gary held the portfolios of Primary Industry and Fisheries, Land Resource Management, the Environment and Arts and Museums in the Country Liberals Government.

As well as being the Leader of the Country Liberals, Leader of the Opposition and Member for Daly, Gary holds the following Shadow Portoflios:

Shadow Treasurer
Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics
Shadow Minister for Housing and Community Development
Shadow Minister for Tourism and Culture
Shadow Minister for Environment and Natural Resources
Shadow Minister for Public Employment
Shadow Minister for Corporate and Information Services
Shadow Minister for Primary Industry and Resources
Shadow Minister for Northern Australia
Shadow Minister for Local Government

Gary is also a member for the following Committees of the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly:

Estimates Committee
House Committee
Standing Orders Committee

You can find out more about Gary on the Northern Territory Parliament's website by clicking here.